History of Outlaw Square
The square was created because of a community-wide effort to build a local gathering space to accommodate public events. Historically, the City of Deadwood had a number of these public plazas, including a gazebo and outdoor concert venue on Sherman Street and Chautauqua Park on the top of McGovern Hill. But as the decades wore on, these spaces succumbed to age and redevelopment, and modern Deadwood has been without a public square. Until now.
Construction of Outlaw Square began in the autumn of 2018. Its location on the corner of Deadwood Street and Main Street is the former site of Deadwood’s City Hall and the Deadwood Theater, grand Victorian-era public buildings that were destroyed by a tragic fire in 1952.
It’s also less than 100 feet from the confluence of Whitewood Creek, City Creek, and Deadwood Creek, where gold was first discovered in Deadwood Gulch in late 1875 – an event that opened the floodgates to the prospectors, entrepreneurs, and gamblers who built Deadwood into one of the West’s most legendary towns.
The mission of Outlaw Square is to enrich the community, its citizens and its visitors by offering a central gathering place that hosts a wide variety of events and activities to build a stronger Deadwood and promote our rich history.
Outlaw Square shall provide the community with a facility for internally produced programming that will make a broad range of entertainment, social, educational, sporting, historic, and cultural events available to the community.